Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon ~ Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Joshua Bell plays Mendelssohn, Brahms and Grieg

Joshua Bell is quite simply a musical phenomenon – not only one of the world’s great violin soloists, but also a respected chamber musician and an accomplished orchestra director.

For the first recital in his three-concert residency at International Festival 2017, the celebrated US violinist joins exceptional Hungarian pianist Dénes Várjon, a regular recital collaborator, in some of the Romantic repertoire’s most gloriously expressive chamber music for violin and piano.

Mendelssohn’s grand F major Sonata from 1838 is cast on a concerto-like scale, with an exhilarating, sweeping energy, while Brahms’s final Violin Sonata brims over with athletic abandon and stormy drama. Bell and Várjon conclude their recital with the touching Nordic lyricism of Grieg.

Mendelssohn | Violin Sonata in F (1838)
Brahms | Violin Sonata No 3 in D minor Op 108
Grieg | Violin Sonata No 3

Queen's Hall, Edinburgh
85 - 89 Clerk Street Edinburgh EH8 9, United Kingdom